.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Salvo! - Save $6.00
The Star & the Crescent - Save $8.00

 







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Illwinter Game Design > Dominions 3: The Awakening

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old October 9th, 2011, 10:11 AM
sansanjuan's Avatar

sansanjuan sansanjuan is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 887
Thanks: 144
Thanked 40 Times in 36 Posts
sansanjuan is on a distinguished road
Default doh! ..Self inflicted idiocy....

Thought there was a Hall of Doh! thread but didn't see it on a quick search. Anyway, I'd thought I'd done every form of normal tactical mental blunder possible in Dom3...

Sneak instead of attack

Blundered out of dominion with an immortal pretender (with subsequent earth attack)

Mixed cold/fire aura troops with their mundane compadres

the list goes on...

recently I did a new one... moved a commander the turn before completing a 1200 buck fort. crap. Made me wonder if a future patch could sanity check 3AM turn submittals for a few of the more obvious egregious errors e.g.

...."Abandon Fortified City construction. Are you sure?"

-ssj

PS Share your own big blunders on this thread if you are comfortable...
__________________
"I think, therefore I am" - René Descartes

"I yam what I yam" - Popeye
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old October 9th, 2011, 11:10 AM
Bullock's Avatar

Bullock Bullock is offline
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,398
Thanks: 64
Thanked 30 Times in 27 Posts
Bullock is on a distinguished road
Default Re: doh! ..Self inflicted idiocy....

Quote:
Originally Posted by sansanjuan View Post
recently I did a new one... moved a commander the turn before completing a 1200 buck fort. crap. Made me wonder if a future patch could sanity check 3AM turn submittals for a few of the more obvious egregious errors e.g.

...."Abandon Fortified City construction. Are you sure?"
Maybe i misunderstand you, but you know you can restore the construction or fort ? If your province hasn't be captured ofc.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old October 9th, 2011, 02:28 PM
sansanjuan's Avatar

sansanjuan sansanjuan is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 887
Thanks: 144
Thanked 40 Times in 36 Posts
sansanjuan is on a distinguished road
Default Re: doh! ..Self inflicted idiocy....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bullock View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by sansanjuan View Post
recently I did a new one... moved a commander the turn before completing a 1200 buck fort. crap. Made me wonder if a future patch could sanity check 3AM turn submittals for a few of the more obvious egregious errors e.g.

...."Abandon Fortified City construction. Are you sure?"
Maybe i misunderstand you, but you know you can restore the construction or fort ? If your province hasn't be captured ofc.
I thought so too but the message when attempting to restart the build gives me an insufficiant funds message.
-ssj
__________________
"I think, therefore I am" - René Descartes

"I yam what I yam" - Popeye
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old October 9th, 2011, 04:43 PM
Foodstamp's Avatar
Foodstamp Foodstamp is offline
Major General
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tennessee USA
Posts: 2,059
Thanks: 229
Thanked 106 Times in 71 Posts
Foodstamp is on a distinguished road
Default Re: doh! ..Self inflicted idiocy....

If you lose the province and regain it, you cannot continue construction on a castle. If you keep possession of the province the entire time, you should be given an option that says "Continue construction on fort".
__________________
BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH NEXT TURN.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old October 9th, 2011, 05:16 PM
sansanjuan's Avatar

sansanjuan sansanjuan is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 887
Thanks: 144
Thanked 40 Times in 36 Posts
sansanjuan is on a distinguished road
Default Re: doh! ..Self inflicted idiocy....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Foodstamp View Post
If you lose the province and regain it, you cannot continue construction on a castle. If you keep possession of the province the entire time, you should be given an option that says "Continue construction on fort".
Have not lost the province. Does it have to be the same commander to continue construction? The ones in there now do not have a "continue" option.
-ssj
__________________
"I think, therefore I am" - René Descartes

"I yam what I yam" - Popeye
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old October 9th, 2011, 11:43 PM
Foodstamp's Avatar
Foodstamp Foodstamp is offline
Major General
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tennessee USA
Posts: 2,059
Thanks: 229
Thanked 106 Times in 71 Posts
Foodstamp is on a distinguished road
Default Re: doh! ..Self inflicted idiocy....

Naw... Any commander can continue the construction. It could be a bug. I've seen weirder things, even forts disappearing.
__________________
BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH NEXT TURN.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old October 10th, 2011, 08:18 AM
sansanjuan's Avatar

sansanjuan sansanjuan is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Minnesota, USA
Posts: 887
Thanks: 144
Thanked 40 Times in 36 Posts
sansanjuan is on a distinguished road
Default Re: doh! ..Self inflicted idiocy....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Foodstamp View Post
Naw... Any commander can continue the construction. It could be a bug. I've seen weirder things, even forts disappearing.
Foodstamp
Thanks for the reply. Tough way to lose a fort.
-ssj
__________________
"I think, therefore I am" - René Descartes

"I yam what I yam" - Popeye
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old October 10th, 2011, 08:19 AM

Mightypeon Mightypeon is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 435
Thanks: 18
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Mightypeon is on a distinguished road
Default Re: doh! ..Self inflicted idiocy....

Wishing for a Grigori.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old October 10th, 2011, 06:36 PM

DeadlyShoe DeadlyShoe is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 107
Thanks: 4
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
DeadlyShoe is on a distinguished road
Default Re: doh! ..Self inflicted idiocy....

Accidentally putting 80 Longbowmen on Attack Cavalry against an indie province.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old October 11th, 2011, 04:37 PM

kasnavada kasnavada is offline
Second Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Toulouse, France
Posts: 579
Thanks: 2
Thanked 12 Times in 6 Posts
kasnavada is on a distinguished road
Default Re: doh! ..Self inflicted idiocy....

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeadlyShoe View Post
Accidentally putting 80 Longbowmen on Attack Cavalry against an indie province.
I do that all the time...

I wish there was an option for "careful, you're sending missile troops with attack orders" (instead of fire). Also another option for "Whichever commander with loads of items has order : none". And also another option for "Xiowdsioe is asked to cast a spell that requires gems, yet Xiowdsioe does not have any gems".

I keep getting my people killed because I forget to triple check every turn for those.
__________________
Often I must speak other than I think. That is called diplomacy.
* Stilgar
Show me a completely smooth operation and I'll show you a cover up. Real boats rock.
* Darwi Odrade
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.