.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

BCT Commander- Save $6.00
World Supremacy- Save $10.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Illwinter Game Design > Dominions 2: The Ascension Wars

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #37  
Old February 2nd, 2004, 08:50 PM

Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Very short question on Communion Master and the slave matrix

Quote:
Originally posted by Chris Byler:

From the communion plus extra gem boost, the spell takes effect at level 5 (its range, area of effect, damage and magic penetration are all modified by caster's power). Since he has 3 levels of power above that required to cast the spell, he pays (100 base/(1+3 extra levels))/(3 members of communion) = 8 fatigue plus his base and armor encumbrances. Correct?

Now the slaves. Do they also pay 8 fatigue plus encumbrance (using the same calculation), or do they pay 33 fatigue (100 base/3 members) plus encumbrance? And would it be possible for them to use death gems to reduce fatigue, given that they have no death magic skill of their own?
I believe using a Gem to cast a spell doesn't change the path of mage (so his path doesn't change but he is allowed to cast the spell).

Also the Master's Fatigue is distributed among only him and the slaves so it's 100 base/2 slaves +1 Master, not 3 members (AFAIK). So each would take 33 Fatigue + encumberance. But if you have multiple masters apart of the communion they will not be considered apart of it for fatigue distribution.


Quote:
One more question about communions. If spells that the master casts that affect himself also affect the slaves, what happens if the master casts Drain Life? Or Soul Vortex? Do the slaves get reinvigorated by those effects too?
Any 'buff' spell or blessing effect the master casts after they are in the communion affect the slaves but as I stated above, only the master and the slaves, not other masters. I don't believe Drain Life works, but Soul Vortex might. I believe the catch is if the Master has something cast on them or casts something on themselves, not an attack spell that has additional effects.

[ February 02, 2004, 19:10: Message edited by: Zen ]
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2025, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.