ATF: Armored Task Force- Save $8.00
War Plan Pacific- Save $8.00

Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Shrapnel Community > Space Empires: IV & V

Old November 26th, 2000, 02:33 AM

Corporal

Elmo is on a distinguished road
Default Carrier questions

Guys

I just started playing around with carriers in my current PBEM game. Do they launch fighters automatically in Strategic combat or do I need to launch manually before entering combat? If they do launch automatically should I give the carrier a Don't Get Hurt order or will it be launching from too far away if I do that? Any tips to save me from learning the hard way would be appreciated. Thanks.

Elmo
Old November 26th, 2000, 02:49 AM

Private

AaronEdward is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Carrier questions

Strategic is automatic, tactical is manual.
Old November 26th, 2000, 03:31 AM

Corporal

Thanks. Any thoughts on the best orders for a carrier, assuming it does not have any offensive weapons?

Elmo
Old November 27th, 2000, 06:31 PM

Major General

Taqwus is on a distinguished road

I think the carriers will launch as fast as possible regardless of strategy. Since your fighters are probably faster than your carriers (eventually they can get up to combat speed 9), this is probably a good thing.

I'd still want to micromanage them. For instance, if you use rocket-pod fighters, the AI will try to make them run away after firing. If you have *other* fighters, however, and you're up against a fleet w/ a lot of PD, you want the now-useless rocketers to fly around soaking up PD fire so your other fighters can approach unharmed. I suspect it also doesn't coordinate them that well -- i.e. holding back fighters until they're all launched, since with fighters number (of stacks) is critical.