.com.unity Forums
  The Official e-Store of Shrapnel Games

This Month's Specials

Bronze - Save $8.00
winSPMBT: Main Battle Tank - Save $6.00

   







Go Back   .com.unity Forums > Illwinter Game Design > Dominions 3: The Awakening

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 6th, 2008, 01:28 AM

chrispedersen chrispedersen is offline
BANNED USER
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,075
Thanks: 203
Thanked 121 Times in 91 Posts
chrispedersen is on a distinguished road
Default E9n9 Bless

Multiple times now, I have had an E9N9 Anusara blessed apparently get no prot bonus, while he regenerates normally.

Is this known behaviour?

Examining further, a palan 12. After bless, 15. Again normal regen.
How does this work... e9 = +4 prot - and it works ok for niefle.
Berserk +2.......???

Last edited by chrispedersen; November 6th, 2008 at 01:50 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old November 6th, 2008, 01:46 AM
vfb's Avatar

vfb vfb is offline
General
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Japan
Posts: 3,691
Thanks: 269
Thanked 397 Times in 200 Posts
vfb is on a distinguished road
Default Re: E9n9 Bless

Yep. The E4 bless adds +4 to body armor and helms (and misc armor like bracers).

Since the Anusara just has a shield, he does not get +4 anywhere.

Try a Kala-Mukha, he'll get +4 on the helm, +4 on the body.

Palankashas get +4 on the body only.
__________________
Whether he submitted the post, or whether he did not, made no difference. The Thought Police would get him just the same. He had committed— would still have committed, even if he had never set pen to paper— the essential crime that contained all others in itself. Thoughtcrime, they called it. Thoughtcrime was not a thing that could be concealed forever.
http://z7.invisionfree.com/Dom3mods/index.php?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old November 6th, 2008, 01:54 AM

chrispedersen chrispedersen is offline
BANNED USER
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,075
Thanks: 203
Thanked 121 Times in 91 Posts
chrispedersen is on a distinguished road
Default Re: E9n9 Bless

Quote:
Originally Posted by vfb View Post
Yep. The E4 bless adds +4 to body armor and helms (and misc armor like bracers).

Since the Anusara just has a shield, he does not get +4 anywhere.

Try a Kala-Mukha, he'll get +4 on the helm, +4 on the body.

Palankashas get +4 on the body only.
yeah.. you're right of course on the anusara. Should have remember that... But I still don't understand the palanksha.. Hmm..

Prot = BaseProt + ArmorProt * (1 - BaseProt/40).

It starts out as 5 Base and 10 Armor
soo Berserk adds to base prot, or

7 + 14 * (1-7/40) = 18.

AHHH I got it

The formula is actually wrong. The correct formula is:

Prot = (BaseProt + ArmorProt) * (1-BaseProt/40).

So, interestingly, the higher the base protection the less usefull an earth bless.

Last edited by chrispedersen; November 6th, 2008 at 02:18 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old November 6th, 2008, 02:11 AM
vfb's Avatar

vfb vfb is offline
General
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Japan
Posts: 3,691
Thanks: 269
Thanked 397 Times in 200 Posts
vfb is on a distinguished road
Default Re: E9n9 Bless

Palankashas have base 5 protection. The earth bless does not add to that.

They also have a Cuirass, which is 10 protection. So, if you click on the 'Protection 12', you see:

Base 5
Protection 12

Head 5
Body 15 (5+10)


An E9 blessed Palankasha is going to show:

Base 5
Protection 15 (or is it 14?)

Head 5
Body 19 (5 + 10 + 4)

I don't know the formula for getting Protection from Head and Body, but it's just an average with more weight on the body.
__________________
Whether he submitted the post, or whether he did not, made no difference. The Thought Police would get him just the same. He had committed— would still have committed, even if he had never set pen to paper— the essential crime that contained all others in itself. Thoughtcrime, they called it. Thoughtcrime was not a thing that could be concealed forever.
http://z7.invisionfree.com/Dom3mods/index.php?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old November 6th, 2008, 02:36 AM
Endoperez's Avatar

Endoperez Endoperez is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Eastern Finland
Posts: 7,110
Thanks: 145
Thanked 153 Times in 101 Posts
Endoperez is on a distinguished road
Default Re: E9n9 Bless

He counted the +2 to base prot from regeneration as well.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Endoperez For This Useful Post:
  #6  
Old November 6th, 2008, 03:37 AM
vfb's Avatar

vfb vfb is offline
General
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Japan
Posts: 3,691
Thanks: 269
Thanked 397 Times in 200 Posts
vfb is on a distinguished road
Default Re: E9n9 Bless

Endo, I was considering the situation before they berserk. Or are you talking about Chris's calc? Sorry, I was going from memory in my numbers above, so they are off.

In any case, a Gibbor is only base protection 2, but loses one mystery protection point when donning armor. At base 5, the Palankasha loses 1 on armor, and also only gains +3 on armor pieces from an E9 bless.

Chris, your formula looks pretty good. Where did you get it from?
__________________
Whether he submitted the post, or whether he did not, made no difference. The Thought Police would get him just the same. He had committed— would still have committed, even if he had never set pen to paper— the essential crime that contained all others in itself. Thoughtcrime, they called it. Thoughtcrime was not a thing that could be concealed forever.
http://z7.invisionfree.com/Dom3mods/index.php?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old November 6th, 2008, 04:41 AM
Endoperez's Avatar

Endoperez Endoperez is offline
National Security Advisor
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Eastern Finland
Posts: 7,110
Thanks: 145
Thanked 153 Times in 101 Posts
Endoperez is on a distinguished road
Default Re: E9n9 Bless

I was talking about Chris's calculations. It looked like you were answering to his post.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old November 6th, 2008, 01:28 PM

chrispedersen chrispedersen is offline
BANNED USER
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4,075
Thanks: 203
Thanked 121 Times in 91 Posts
chrispedersen is on a distinguished road
Default Re: E9n9 Bless

Quote:
Originally Posted by vfb View Post
Endo, I was considering the situation before they berserk. Or are you talking about Chris's calc? Sorry, I was going from memory in my numbers above, so they are off.

In any case, a Gibbor is only base protection 2, but loses one mystery protection point when donning armor. At base 5, the Palankasha loses 1 on armor, and also only gains +3 on armor pieces from an E9 bless.

Chris, your formula looks pretty good. Where did you get it from?
Well I scoured back archives using keywords berserk and prot as I remembered there was something about it. Then I played around a bit, since the formula didn't seem to give demonstrable results.. but it seems to work now. At least on the 5-10 results I have tried.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old November 6th, 2008, 04:03 PM

Amorphous Amorphous is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 94
Thanks: 13
Thanked 18 Times in 10 Posts
Amorphous is on a distinguished road
Default Re: E9n9 Bless

I am probably just misunderstanding something, but this:
Quote:
Prot = (BaseProt + ArmorProt) * (1-BaseProt/40)
cannot be the correct formula.

It would mean that an entity without armour would have a protection lower than its base protection as long as that base protection was 7 or more. A Cyclops with 10 levels of earth magic would have a base protection of 30, but a total protection of only 8.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old November 6th, 2008, 04:37 PM
Jazzepi's Avatar

Jazzepi Jazzepi is offline
Major General
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 2,204
Thanks: 67
Thanked 49 Times in 31 Posts
Jazzepi is on a distinguished road
Default Re: E9n9 Bless

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amorphous View Post
I am probably just misunderstanding something, but this:
Quote:
Prot = (BaseProt + ArmorProt) * (1-BaseProt/40)
cannot be the correct formula.

It would mean that an entity without armour would have a protection lower than its base protection as long as that base protection was 7 or more. A Cyclops with 10 levels of earth magic would have a base protection of 30, but a total protection of only 8.
I'm pretty sure that total protection includes a "legging" slot for armor when being calculated that doesn't see any real use in the actual game.

Jazzepi
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2017, Shrapnel Games, Inc. - All Rights Reserved.